Week 6…Excuses

Six weeks feels like a milestone for some reason.  So, I looked it up and found out this:

1) New Years resolutions start to fail around week 6

2) Girl Scout Cookies start to be sold.

Coincidence?  Maybe not.  It might be a “phase 2 challenge” the Girl Scouts decided to introduce so those who try to lose weight as a NY resolution are challenged to find out just how really serious they are about their new found goal.  Those cookies do seem to being shouting “just one!” at people. “It’s for a good cause!” Sneaky!

Well, here’s how serious I was regarding week 6 in 2013:

6Goals as a runner:
1) Run at least 14 miles a week (2 miles a day) for the year.

4 miles. Yes, that was all.  Just 4 miles.  I have some excuses though (I’m sure those munching on Girl Scout cookies do to): I came down with a cold last Tuesday.  It was inevitable: Ping came home with it a week prior, then Erin started a few days before me.  It was bound to happen.  Normally, I’ll run through a case of “the sniffles, ” but I felt like this was a little more serious than that….my body just felt tired. By the end of the week, I was feeling a little better, but then… Nemo happened!  Yeah, a foot of snow and high winds don’t make for a good 10 mile run.  I’m back at it this week though!

Personal:
1) Have a business plan in place by June.

I haven’t really focused on this at all this week.  It’s okay though….You see, I read a chapter in a book for my bible study about “slowing down” in life. I’m not panicking about this.

Mommy & Housewife:
1) Organize one thing in the house each week for a year.

My omnigrid ruler and cutting mat have been stowed on the floor against the wall for the past few weeks.  I have a section of wall in our bedroom that would be perfect for a peg board to organize all my craft and sewing supplies. I found some peg board on Amazon and put it on my wishlist for my birthday.  Yesterday, I put a nail in the wall and hung my cutting mat and omnigrid ruler up. 🙂

2) Clean at least one thing in our home each day.
The In-laws arrived yesterday….let’s just say my house is spotless. 🙂

3) Finish cross stitching all of our darn stockings!
I only have the bordering to go on the hubby’s stocking! Then it’s on to Erin’s!  I’m so excited about this!

What were your 6 week excuses?  Only 46 more weeks to go!

Leave a Reply

