Now this is the Rest of the Story:

No, sorry, no guest blogger by the name of Paul Harvey here. (although I don’t think he blogged)  He passed away in 2009. Great writer!  Nope, I’m just here to tell you the rest of MY story.  You know, the one I started the other day….why I haven’t been on here in 11 weeks? Yeah.  That one.  I’m sure many of you were left wondering what I did the other 9 weeks I’ve been absent here.  Well, I vaguely recall mentioning I took up a new hobby back in February.  Apparently, sewing hasn’t become more of a passion, it’s more of an  obsession!  Something I regret not learning a long time ago when I had the chance!  I started with a table runner…simple and nice.  I have it on my buffet table.  Then, I moved on to a rice heat sack.  LOVE IT!  Those achy muscles after a long run and those cold toes in the winter thanked me a lot for that! Then, I cleaned up our garbage bag area and made a garbage bag holder.  I soon found that I couldn’t stop sewing!  I literally have been addicted to it!  I have been dreaming of ideas in my head and it’s been awesome to see them come to life!  I made a birthday dress for Erin.  The pillow case style. That was my first attempt at a garment.  That was a little difficult!  Then, I made a simple tote bag/purse and I turned it into something I’m really excited about.  I call it a “Pockets of Love” tote bag. Here is a picture of mine:

DSC_0057

My Pockets of Love bag

DSC_0062

Monkey Pockets!

On the outside are pockets for easy access.  I put my cell phone, chap stick, car keys, anything that I use a lot.  On the inside I did something really special. I made pockets our of printed fabric.  The fabric I chose was monkeys.  Monkeys!?!  Why monkeys you ask? It seems to clash with the elegance of the outside, right?  NO!  This is the “Pockets of Love” part!  Erin loves monkeys.  So, I chose monkey fabric to remind me of her every time I open my bag.  I love it!  I love it because I love my daughter so much that I want to be reminded of her even every time I open my purse.

A friend of mine asked me to make her one.  Her son loves cows. She asked me right after I made my purse, so I left the inside pockets a secret for her.  She chose her outside fabric and I told her the inside was my area.  She seemed to be pretty picky with the fabric she wanted (rightly so!  Who wants to wear a purse they don’t like!?!), so I’m guessing it made her a little nervous of what she was

going to see on the inside. I also added a zipper for hers. ( I used a magnetic clasp for mine which I don’t really care for now.  I might change it to a zipper after all)  Here is a picture of L’s purse:

L's purse on the inside: Cow print! Her son loves cows!

L’s purse on the inside: Cow print! Her son loves cows!

L chose burnt orange for her straps as she is a UT-Austin Alum.  Hook em' Horns!

L chose burnt orange for her straps as she is a UT-Austin Alum. Hook em’ Horns!

A second friend also asked me to make her one.  Here is hers:

S's favorite color is teal!  I LOVE how the teal polka dots came together with this fabric.

S’s favorite color is teal! I LOVE how the teal polka dots came together with this fabric.

I got so many compliments on my purse while I was on vacation.  Many people told me I should sell them.  I have really enjoyed making these three bags and loved putting my style and art into them. I love how these two girls really enjoy them and enjoy the subtle reminder they have of their children when they reach into their purse.  So, I opened an Etsy shop (recently)! I decided to call it TLeeCustomDesigns. I also started a Facebook page (tleecustomdesigns) where I’ve been posting my sewing creations before I list them on Etsy.

So, there you have it, the rest of MY story.  Oh yeah….I also ran a half marathon…

Sea Turtles!

Sea Turtles!
2 thoughts on “Now this is the Rest of the Story:

  1. Wow! You have been so productive. The pictures of your bags are really nice – but they are even nicer in person. Can’t believe you just started sewing!

Leave a Reply

