The American Sandwich

Peanut Butter: a delicious, gooey, sticky spread that MANY American children rave about.  Couple that with a fruit flavored jelly (or banana, or honey) and some good bread and you have the American child’s delight!

Did you know that A 2002 survey showed the average American will eat 2,500 PB&J sandwiches before graduating high school? Did you also know that peanut butter used to be a delicacy served only in tea rooms in NYC? However, by 1920, it was so common and cheap it was seen on a military soldier’s ration list frequently.  All because of Good Housekeeping Magazine urging middle America to use meat grinders to grind peanuts to make the spread.  All that is fascinating, isn’t it?

I thoroughly enjoyed this type of sandwich as a child, and I still do.  Back when I was doing ministry full time, I was surprised to hear a number of my students couldn’t stand peanut butter!  Apparently, it’s not as much of a staple in an Asian American home.  Even my own husband would prefer “cold cuts” (that’s deli meat to your west coasters) between his two slices of wheat over peanut butter and jelly.

I waited a long time to introduce Erin to peanut butter.  I have a fear of finding out Erin’s allergies or lack there of. I am armed with a bottle of children’s Benadryl in our medicine cabinet. Fortunately, we’ve never had to use it.  The only thing she seems to not be able to tolerate so far is salmon.  For me, I think I just have this looming fear that my kid will be allergic to nuts.  Peanuts.  It’s so common, that I think I just think about it more.  Her first taste of peanut butter was at Christmas this year when my sister in law brought some AMAZINGLY AWESOME peanut butter reindeer cookies.  (thank you Pinterest!)

Image

Since then, we’ve shied away from the stuff. But today, I braved it.  I brought out the peanut butter and fixed my toddler her very first peanut butter and jelly sandwich!  I’ll let the pictures do the talking:

Image

What is this you’ve put on my bread, mom?

Image

Let me taste….

Image

AWESOME!!!

Image

“One more?”

I think she loved it!

Leave a Reply

