Week 2

We are 14 days into the new year! Let’s check in and see how those goals are coming along.

number-2Okay, so here it goes, my week 2 check in:

Goals as a runner:
1) Run at least 14 miles a week (2 miles a day) for the year.

My total mileage for the week was 24 miles! Thanks to my new running partner, and the registration fee I paid for my next race, I am officially in half marathon training mode.  I’ll be running the World Vision 13.1 New York race on March 23rd.  This will be my 9th half marathon, I think. Wait…no…8th…no 9th…one of the two. I’m counting 8 off the top of my head, but I have a feeling I’m missing one.

Personal:
1) Have a business plan in place by June.
I have visions of…..sewing in my head.  The desire really started about 2 years ago and has increasingly gotten bigger, especially with this “big idea” looming over me. One of our MOPS mentor moms started offering a sewing class last year.  I signed up, but had to drop it because of the childcare situation.  I inquired recently about it again and there are open spots, plus, Erin is old enough to hang with the bigger kids. Yippee!  I start on Friday.

Mommy & Housewife:
1) Organize one thing in the house each week for a year.
I got my wonderful husband to hang the corner shelf up next to the desk.  I originally had 2 shelves to hang.  The first one was such a challenge for him that I compromised and said IMAG0508one was fine. FYI, don’t expect someone with an ELECTRICAL engineering degree to be handy around the house.  (Psst…Dad, I have a project for you when you come visit.) Another lesson learned: While corner shelves are a great concept theoretically, they don’t have a lot of function.  I should have gotten a few floating shelves instead. 😦

2) Clean at least one thing in our home each day.
I got the bathrooms and kitchen done this week!  Yipee!  Dusting is my goal for today.

3) Finish cross stitching all of our darn stockings!
My goal was to finish the antlers on Ping’s stocking this weekend, but other things got in the way and I’m still working on the antlers. 😦

How are you doing after the first week of your new goals you’ve set for yourself?  Feel free to share in the comments section below.  Only 50 more weeks to go!

2 thoughts on “Week 2

  1. I wanted to reorganise 2 rooms – now they both are in the stage of looking like a bomb has hit – hopefully next week I will find the floor!

    • Lyndell: that’s great you have that goal! One thing I learned from the Organizing Junkie is that you can’t overwhelm yourself. Otherwise it will never get done. She’s suggests to break the large task into smaller tasks. For example, I’d like to clean out Erin’s cupboard in our kitchen and put her new kitchen toys in it. Instead of doing it all in one day, I plan on going through the cupboard one week and the next placing her new toys inside the cupboard the next. I could break it down further and do just one shelf one week and another the next. Maybe with your rooms, you can break the room into 4 ot 6 areas and work on just those areas in separate weeks!

Leave a Reply

