Week One, Down…

The first 7 days of 2013 are now complete! So how has everyone done with their resolutions/goals? As I thought about this post, I wondered what day of the week December 2013 is and to my convenience it is a Tuesday. Once I realized this, I figured if I checked in on myself publicly with my 2013 goals every Tuesday, it might help me stay on track with things. Yet, as I type this I now realize how idiotic of an idea this is. I already went through the stupidity last week of sharing my 2013 goals with the world. You’d think I’d learn my lesson and at least give myself some space to fail, right? I guess I’m not going to. Crap.

1Okay, so here it goes, my week 1 check in:

Goals as a runner:
1) Run at least 14 miles a week (2 miles a day) for the year.

My total mileage for the week was 17.5 miles. If you take out Monday, the 31st run, it’s 14.5, so I’m good here. Yay! Oh, and thanks to my new running partner, Ivana, I got in 6 miles on a Friday afternoon WITH the stroller!  (Erin, you are really getting heavy)

Personal:
1) Have a business plan in place by June.
I’ve got time on this one. 🙂 Does reading a book about starting a business count though? I really am learning some good tips through this book.

Mommy & Housewife:
1) Organize one thing in the house each week for a year.
I organized and alphabetized my spice cupboard! Okay, that sounds really lame to many people, but yesterday, when I needed Italian seasoning, it took me 2 seconds to find it rather than 2 minutes. When something is cooking fast on the stove, that makes all the difference in the world!

2) Clean at least one thing in our home each day.
I admit, this has been challenging. But if I slack and say just cleaning the kitchen counter and doing the dishes counts, then I’m right on track for this goal! It’s just so HARD with a toddler AND a husband to keep things clean around here!  I’m so exhausted by the end of the day, I just want to sit and relax.

3) Finish cross stitching all of our darn stockings!
I’ve been pretty diligent about this. If you don’t believe me, just ask my wrist. I also decided to break this goal down a little further. I have approximately 3 months to complete this goal. I’ve got 3 stockings to do. Yep, one stocking a month. Hope that helps me.

How are you doing after the first week of your new goals you’ve set for yourself?  Any new gym enthusiasts not regret their memberships yet? If you’re already having a hard time sticking to your goals, just think positively: only 51 more weeks to go!

2 thoughts on “Week One, Down…

  1. Getting your spices in alpha. Order is not lame at all. I really had a hard time finding spices when I cooked at your house so glad you took the time to do this; can also help Erin with her ABC’s.

Leave a Reply

