It’s Killing a Baby, No Matter What Term You Use

As I scrolled through my news feed on my Facebook page today, I came across a friend who shared a link to an article that just sickens me to the bone.  Apparently, two ethicits in Australia are arguing for the acceptance of what they call “after-birth abortions.” They claim that a newborn is “not human.” The article later clarifies what these to mad men claim to be acceptable murder of a helpless being: if the child would be ” putting the well-being of the family at risk.”  They use the example of Down’s Syndrome.  Here is a link to the article.

I could easily add MANY four letter words and obscenities in this post, but I’m going to try to keep it as G rated as possible for you.  ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME!?!  A child is a child.  A child is a HUMAN BEING, a child is the product of two people coming together for whatever reason!  You can’t sit here and tell anyone that a newborn is NOT human!  Rachel had a very rare genetic disorder.  Her prognosis for life IF she survived was VERY poor.  She probably would have drained our finances, health insurance, and every resource Ping and I have to take care of her.  But we would have done it no questions asked.  I started to feel Rachel move in the womb at about 17 weeks.  It was one of the most exciting times of my pregnancy with her.  It was a clear sign of not only was there another HUMAN inside me, but she had a mind and body separate from mine as well.  She kicked when I wanted to sleep, she punched me in places where it didn’t feel so good.  She sat on my organs and made some normal bodily functions uncomfortable.  I didn’t do that to myself.  SHE did that to ME.  She was a HUMAN BEING way before she was born!! Here’s a picture of Rachel:

Rachel was a perfect HUMAN in my eyes, her father’s eyes, grandparents and everyone that loved her; even with her disorder and other complications from birth. She had a head, two hands, two feet, eyes, ears, nose, mouth….EVERYTHING that you and I have! No one can sit here and tell a mother with their newborn HUMAN that their CHILD is “not capable of attributing to her own existence.” Yes, they are not capable of taking care of themselves, but if this were to be ethical, then this “after-birth abortion” could be applicable to a normal baby until at least the teen years depending on how they were raised.  These ethicists should be locked up in a mental institution just for even THINKING this could be okay!

2 thoughts on “It’s Killing a Baby, No Matter What Term You Use

  1. Oh boy. I have no words. No words. I can’t form words. Other than 4 letter ones about that article.

    Rachel is beautiful. A beautiful human being, before and after birth.

  2. I’m sad and speechless to those who can come up with something so senseless! Rachel will always be one of my grandchildren even though she spent little time on this earth.

Leave a Reply

