A New Home For Me To Speak

After reading what all the hype was regarding wordpress.com, I decided to bite the bullet and switch my blog from our old home to here. I hope I am able to reach more Baby Loss mammas this way! For those of you just joining me on this journey, here is a short glimpse into my history:

I started my old blog, Running With Soul, back in 2008 when I began training for the New York City Marathon (my first).  I originally intended it to be just a blog about someone training for their first marathon.  However, I only posted maybe twice during that time.  Then, there my blog sat….gathering viral dust on the shelf as my life continued.

Two marathon later, I decided to blow off that dust and began writing again when I became pregnant with our first child, Rachel Grace. I continued running during that pregnancy and the blog became more of a chance for me to write my experience of running while pregnant (something you don’t really find on the internet).

However, the week before Thanksgiving in November 2009, our lives changed forever.  We learned at our 20 week ultrasound with Rachel that she most likely had Down’s Syndrome.  I posted the news here and my posts stopped.  I got busy during the holidays, preparing for Christmas, New Years, and then bam…it happened…

On January 3, 2010, my water broke while at church.  I was 25 weeks, 2 days pregnant, and our lives were about to change even more drastically.  Rachel was born via emergency c-section.  We quickly learned she did not have Down’s Syndrome, but a rare genetic disorder known at Paternal Uni-Parental Disomy #14 (UPD14- Paternal).  You can read about our birth story here.

In September of 2010, we found out we were cautiously expecting our rainbow child. After weekly 17p shots, a short stay in the hospital, and10 weeks of modified bed rest, we welcomed our rainbow baby girl on April 13, 2011.

Erin Rachel has been nothing short of a blessing in our lives. You can read about our first 4 months with her in my old blog above.

I wanted to redirect my focus of this writing back to my loss of Rachel, how life without her has given us new meaning and what its like to have a rainbow baby. I hope that my posts are great encouragement and empathy to those that have also lost a baby. I want them to know what life can be like on the other side of their loss. I hope you will enjoy.

Leave a Reply

